January Wrap Up – well, sort of

January seems to have lasted forever but it feels like time is going too fast. That’s a contradiction but it is what it is. It’s the month for making plans or not making plans for fear you’ll feel inadequate when you don’t accomplish them. It’s the month for taking stock and realising how behind on all your goals and dreams you are. This just got way too real let’s get into the books.

Books I’ve Been Reading Lately

The Woman In The Window by A.J Finn

  • Is it even a psychological thriller if it doesn’t scare me when I’m reading it at night?
  • Agoraphobic woman sees something she’s not supposed to see while window-watching and hell breaks lose.
  • The first 100 or so pages of the book felt like nothing was happening except the main character getting drunk and mixing her medication
  • But then it turned reallyyy good
  • I loved the horror movie references in the book and I’m planning on watching all the movies mentioned soon
  • Movie adaption starring Amy Adams coming real soon and I am excited!!!

It’s Not Like It’s A Secret by Misa  Sugiura

  • Japanese-American mc, Sana just moved from a small city to a different city and finally finds a group of friends she can relate to
  • Queer poetry nerds sending cute notes to each other in a poetry journal
  • The cutest, the epicest (that’s not a word but ok) apologising-and-professing-my-love scene that is deserving of a cinema screen

Public Relations by Katie Heaney and Arianna Rebolini

  • Self-insert Harry Styles fic
  • Rose, a pr assistant, gets to be the lead in orchestrating a fake relationship for pop sensation Archie Foxx with up-and-coming artist Raya but she falls in love with him (obviously)
  • This was actually quite good and entertaining especially the insight into how faux-mances between celebrities are arranged
  • Predictable af but still so cute and good

ARCs I’ve Been Reading Lately

  • Every Word You Can Not Say by Iain Thomas
  • 365 Ways to Beat Stress by Adam Gordon
  • The A to Z of Eating Disorders by Emma Wolf
  • You Are Here by Dawn Lanuza

Music I’ve Been Listening To Lately

  • hope is a dangerous thing for a woman like me to have (but i have it) by Lana del Rey.
  • Good Years by ZAYN – this song is probably the only thing I’ve been listening to all month.
  • I’m A Mess by Bebe Rexha – I wouldn’t have gotten through this week without Bebe telling me that everything’s gonna be alright.
  • Oceans by Hillsong Unitedly – I’ve been struggling a lot with religion lately but yeah.

February TBR

Okay, January’s been off to a rocky start reading wise so as usual, I’m going to keep it super, super short. I’ve someone managed to commit to not one but two reading challenges besides having a fickle heart that doesn’t understand the concept of set TBRs. My mood reading self has gone and signed up for the Year of the Asian Reading Challenge and the Potterhead Readalong. I’m already behind  as expected.

 

  • The Storyteller by Traci Chee (#3 Sea of Ink and Gold)
  • Ruin and Rising by Leigh Bardugo (#3 Grisha Verse)
  • It’s Not Me, It’s You by Stephanie Strohm
  • The Philosopher’s Stone by JK Rowling
  • Chamber of Secrets by JK Rowling

page break

How was your January? What interesting books did you read?

2 thoughts on “January Wrap Up – well, sort of

  1. January DID last forever and time DOES move fast, I can’t cope with this gshkgd
    I’ve been eyeing It’s Not Like it’s a Secret for a while, I’m glad you liked it! Happy February!

    Like

Leave a comment